SMOKINCHOICES (and other musings)

November 13, 2016

Easy out from munching own energy

Indecision is a “real” biggie

You know, I have qualities, talents and foibles. . .just like almost everyone else.  Tho we are not the same,  we are so similar. No doubt, the issue which has probably caused me the most angst over my lifetime is the one of ‘indecision’.   This would come up over random things where It was necessary for me to choose;  the pink or the sea-green?   big one or smaller?   left or right – which way?  Should I do this or not?  S’ probably why I went into accounting and was fairly happy in the field.  Everything made sense to me, was logical and it worked — I worked and was comfortable. . no problem there. But so many other things weren’t as easy for me to decipher.  

Of course,  my struggle with decision-making was an enormous enigma for Mother. She had always known who she was and how she felt;  choosing for her seemed to be an automatic reflex and could not understand that in me.   And I didn’t know why I was so  hesitant to make decisions.  Was I so afraid of being wrong?   Did I need to please that much?   And further – – how did I go from being that indecisive in youth to becoming so sure of my own mind as I grew?  I donno.  Life teaches us if we’re open enough. . .   . experience is a teacher.  

Angst is uncomfortable. .  . does NOT feel good.  Had I known then about choosing the better thought,  finding a better way, I may have been saved a lot of distress (which is a destroyer of energy) – had I been willing and able to hear the words and get them.  Indecision can stop forward movement and also lead to negative consequences.  Was  reminded  of all this when I read Abraham’s message below.  Caused me to smile and take time for gratitude that I get this now. . very much.     Jan

glyph

 

Make a decision and then make the decision right. Line up your Energy with it. In most cases it doesn’t really matter what you decide. Just decide. There are endless options that would serve you enormously well, and all or any one of them is better than no decision.

—Abraham

Excerpted from: Orlando, FL on February 21, 1998

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

