SMOKINCHOICES (and other musings)

June 9, 2016

Many thumbs on the scale

Bernie, there were BIG thumbs on the SCALE

In a sense I feel like wearing black and drawing the shades.  Not just the wind-out-of-my-sails feeling;  actually worse.  I know better than to cave like  this. ..its bad for me, my body, my health and life — negates who I am.  Overwhelm can be like this.  The infernal “why” rears up and can’t be ignored.  I was emotionally, deeply invested in an outcome I so cared about and trusted, had faith in.  All washed away in a blink of an eye last Monday before the 5-state voting (including California – where I’m from) on Tuesday,   as announcement was made that Hillary had now become the designate winner in the Democratic party;  her numbers were conclusive!  Its as if there was this giant national THUD and it shook my world. Slammed me down.

How could this happen?  It had been agreed that no winner would be called until the convention in July after all states had voted, been included. If it was over, why would anybody bother to go out and vote on Tuesday?  The Tuesday results  bore that out.  My heart went out to Bernie who had to be suffering;  he had given so much for so long, created a magnificent movement of optimistic, eager, believer/activists who trusted him so completely — loved him.  Who did this?  Why?  How does such a thing happen?  This is not an accident.  As I forced myself to listen to the newscasts I began to hear things I hadn’t heard before,  .  .  forced to recognize the meaning.  

Bernie claims he had been assured  the White House had no thumbs on the scale in this process, they were neutral. (I don’t believe that). When I heard that President Obama was very close to Debbie Wasserman Schultz (she had been influential to his success), claiming “she had my back, now I’ve got hers”.  . .  I didn’t need to hear more.    Sometimes, one has to just pull the covers over the head and let go.

You may know know by now how highly I regard Bill Moyers and Company.  He has always been an honest truth-teller, no matter how hard it is to hear.   So,for what really is going on, read the following:             Jan

Wasserman Schultz Has a Change of Heart, But We Say: Too Little, Too Late

By Bill Moyers & Michael Winship

She had become a symbol of the failure of Democratic elites to understand that there is an uprising in the land. Millions of Americans are rebelling against the leadership of both parties. They are fed up with inside-the-Beltway politicians who pay only lip service to the deep needs of everyday people and the country; fed up with incumbents who ask for their votes, are given them in good faith, and then return to Washington to do the bidding of the donor class and its lobbyists. …

So [at July’s convention,] take the planks in the platform and the platitudes and promises in the speeches with a grain of salt. It’s all about the money.

Except when it’s not. Except for those moments when ordinary people rise up and declare: “Not this time!”

Which brings us back to predatory lenders and their buddy, Debbie Wasserman Schultz.

READ MORE »

0

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

