SMOKINCHOICES (and other musings)

February 27, 2014

HBP, fix it naturally

( My own comment on this piece by Dr Sinatra will follow;  while this is a perfectly legitimate and well-done article — I do take issue with it’s general, overall tone.    My grand-daughters are 19 and 20 now and I had stepped in to raise them after their mommy’s health broke down and she left the family when the baby was about 17 months old.   For no other reason than that, I was glad and it was fortuitous that I had trailed my son to Ohio from California when his wife couldn’t remain there with our frightening  earthquakes.  Not quite what I had planned for my so-called ‘golden years’ of total self-indulgence, but an unplanned and delightful gift even so.  No regrets — they were my great joy, segueing out after they had reached the middle of middle school. 

Early on in that part of my life, was told my blood pressure was too high, needed meds.  No way!  Wasn’t about to start down that path which I was convinced killed my mother (she had been on as many as 18 daily meds). They badgered me and guilted me asking who would care for them if I stroked out or worse? So in time I caved.  I had gained weight (as Mother had)  No matter what I did or the medicine doctors prescribed for me, my HPB proved intractable for nearly 20 years.   I knew becoming a vegan would do the job, it usually did for Dr McDougall’s followers. Helped perhaps somewhat, but wasn’t my answer over several years.  But I did loose the weight and felt and looked better.   

And,  in my comment below, I’ll explain what I have done to help myself.   It’s been over a year since seeing a doctor. . .[had this mole and wanted a certain man to fix it, refusing to go to a dermatologist.  He froze it and now its gone like it was never there. . .what a guy]  But an extra was learning that my blood pressure had dropped down to 128 from a much higher number.  . .tell ya later. .

You Can Lower Your Blood Pressure in Eight Weeks

Dr. Stephen Sinatra

by Stephen Sinatra M.D.

We spend more than $3 billion on anti-hypertensive drugs every year, yet 26 percent of people on medication still have high blood pressure. Despite new drugs and diagnostics, the death rate from hypertension has risen 36 percent in the last decade. Clearly, something is not working. There has got to be a better, more effective method for reducing this insidious and dangerous condition.

There is. It’s right in your supermarket and in your refrigerator at home. You can reduce your blood pressure to normal levels (less than 130 over 80), without pills or costly doctor visits. Simply with diet and exercise, most people can normalize their blood pressure in as little as eight weeks.

Most people can significantly reduce their blood pressure by losing just ten percent of their body weight. A combination of walking one to two miles daily, plus adopting the Pan-Asian Modified Mediterranean (PAMM) diet can have a huge impact on hypertension.

For years, physicians followed the American Heart Association’s dietary guidelines, touting low-fat and high carbohydrate regimens. It took a long time to figure out that this combination promoted insulin resistance and hypertension. Research kept pointing in the directions of the Mediterranean regions of Italy, Greece and Spain, as well as Asia. These people had a fraction of the heart disease found in northern Europe and the United States.

The typical Mediterranean diet, which includes lots of fresh fruit and vegetables, local fish, home-produced olive oil, fresh garlic and nuts, is key to lower blood pressure. The Asian diet, bountiful in fish, fresh vegetables and fruits, locally-harvested seaweeds and soy products, offers many of the same benefits, plus others. In fact, there is no Japanese word for “hot flash” because most Japanese women follow their traditional diet and pass right through menopause without the symptoms experienced by many Western women.

The PAMM diet includes fruits and vegetables at every meal. Fresh produce is packed with disease-fighting antioxidants, bioflavonoids, and phytonutrients that reduce free-radical induced diseases including cancer, cardiovascular disease, premature aging and cataracts. Cabbage, broccoli, and cauliflower contain anticancer agents. Spinach is rich in the antioxidant lutein as well as vitamins C and E. Tomatoes offer the carotenoid lycopene, which helps to prevent cancer. A single serving of kale has as much calcium as a glass of milk while onions and garlic provide allicin, a cholesterol-lowering nutrient.

All these foods are rich in flavonoids. Black tea, apples and onions are the most studied of these foods because they contain quercetin, a flavonoid which blocks the oxidation of LDL cholesterol. Onions contain the most. In a German study of 24 relatively young (average age was 45) subjects with hypertension, five hours after giving them a capsule of onions macerated in olive oil, they experienced a significant reduction in systolic (7 mm Hg) and diastolic (3.1 mm Hg) blood pressures. Additionally, there was a significant reduction in blood plasma thickness, meaning that blood flowed more easily, further reducing blood pressure.

Fish are an important part of the PAMM diet because they are rich in coenzyme Q10 and omega-3 fatty acids that help reduce blood pressure, inflammation and clotting. One fish meal a week can cut your risk of sudden death in half! But not all fish have the same fat content. Cold water fish such as mackerel, sardines and salmon are packed with beneficial omega-3 essential fatty acids and Q10. Tuna, halibut, sea trout, crab and shrimp have much lower contents of good fat.

The PAMM diet is also rich in another essential fatty acid: alpha linolenic acid (ALA), which is found in nuts and seeds. Almonds, walnuts, and flaxseed, for example, are rich in essential fatty acids and phytosterols (nutrients that inhibit the body’s ability to absorb dietary cholesterol).

Olive oil is also credited with enhancing longevity and reducing heart disease and breast cancer. Low intake of saturated fats also creates less arterial plaque, a major precursor to heart disease and helps support a healthy weight. The PAMM diet is also rich in low-glycemic-index foods which don’t create excessive insulin production. Lentils, chickpeas and soybeans provide vegetable protein without the insulin spike that can lead to hyperinsulinemia and heart disease, obesity, high blood pressure and high LDL cholesterol. Insulin resistance, which leads to Type-2 diabetes, can only be reversed with diet and exercise.

Stephen Sinatra, M.D. is a Fellow of the American College of Cardiology and the American College of Nutrition. A practicing cardiologist, he is the author of the new book, “Lower Your Blood Pressure In Eight Weeks” (Ballantine Books; 2003; $13.95). He has written seven other books, and edits a monthly newsletter, The Sinatra Health Report, published by Phillips Health, LLC. For more information, visit http://www.drsinatra.com.

(Interestingly,  I DID use another book of Dr Sinatra’s as part of my solution.  I’m quite sure I’ve spoken to the readers of  “smokinchoices” [many times] about the many problems with my beautiful heart.  Maybe close to 10 years fooling around with cardiologists, all the expensive tests, a few trips to the hospital for procedures and of course, the costly meds.  I quit all that and the difficult A-fib came pounding back.  I’ve lived long, accepted my fate — wouldn’t do it anymore. Nor could I justify that ridiculous expense all over again when none of it fixed or improved anything. It only manipulated symptoms. 

Being an eternal student of all that captures my interest, I had not quite given up finding answers and finally did in Dr Blaylock’s monthly health letter from 2006 which I had filed away.  That was the trigger to my understanding of what was truly needed and now it was time to research and dig in.    My search finally led me to a Naturopath, Dr Harry A. Elwardt who had written a book called “Let’s Stop the #1 Killer of Americans Today, written in 2006. Found myself the book and fell in love.   As Dr Blaylock was laying out the protocol for saving lives by healing hearts, he had referenced an article of Dr Sinatra and gave the link to it.  Was great, but only gave part 1 and the part 2 – I couldn’t access, so I bought his book called the Sinatra Solution – Metabolic Cardiology written in 2005.  Really excellent.  All three are some of the world’s most prominent new-age thinkers in heart disease.  Each of them were speaking the same language.  And the answer to the Heart’s needs revolves around its ENERGY and nutritional needs which has been almost completely overlooked in conventional allopathic treatment. 

Since, I’ve covered all this specifically over the last month or so as I kept discovering these surprising natural substances which the body uses, makes and desperately needs more of especially as we age,I’m not going to elucidate it all again tonite.  I will endeavor to fully discuss my findings from these three doctors once I have put it all together in an understandable fashion.  Much you know about and probably are already doing: [major amounts of] CoQ10 [I use Ubiquinol],  Vitamin D3, Omega 3’s [I use Calimari DHA500],  L-arginine [first thing on rising and before bed] – this can’t be taken with other amino acids or in fact any protein of any kind, 2 hours before or after the other taken because arginine is more sensitive than the others and would be disabled – thus ineffective. With breakfast –  L-carnitine, Taurine and D-ribose;   and for dinner – l-carnitine.  D-ribose is taken again at or near bedtime.  I take Arjuna between meals in afternoon. 

This is all ‘general’ if it makes sense to any of you, take courage and get a book or two so you get it the way it needs to be if you are serious.  Dr Harry’s book would be my #1 choice — he ‘splains really well!

I do all this for my heart.  It has helped me greatly.  The purpose of course is to get the mitochondria infused with the energy it so desperately needs. Both the heart and brain are ravenous and this is the energy they need. This follows with improved circulation to every cell in the body and oxygenation to them.  The two unexpected side effects to this protocol are most welcome:  the first time in these many years, my blood pressure seems to be normalizing and ditto for the pulmonary system, I now breathe better, move around better, am beginning to have energy once again to do stuff. . .and they say you can’t do anything about COPD.  Well, you can!  It’s working for me.    I still have my passion and wants. . . there’s stuff I want to do and I’m feeling pretty fine.  G’nite  Jan)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

