SMOKINCHOICES (and other musings)

November 14, 2013

ADHD diagnosis (not good)

Public health

Study criticizes ADHD diagnosis

By Kate Kelland REUTERS

LONDON— A wider definition of attention deficit hyperactivity disorder is causing inappropriate diagnosis and unnecessary and possibly harmful medical treatment costing up to $500 million in the United States alone, scientists said.

  • Less-restrictive diagnostic criteria have contributed to a steep rise in diagnoses for the behavioral brain condition particularly among children — researchers said, and in the use of stimulant drugs to manage it.

The broader definition also “devalues the diagnosis in those with serious problems,” said Rae Thomas, a senior researcher at Australia’s Bond University who led an analysis of the problem and has published it in the British Medical Journal.

  • People with ADHD are excessively restless, impulsive and easily distracted, and children with the condition often have trouble in school. It is most often diagnosed in children but it also can persist into adulthood.

There is no cure, but the symptoms can be kept in check by a combination of behavioral therapy and medications such asRitalin or Vyvanse.

My Comment:  

This entire concept has had me off-kilter for so many decades.  Nothing about this disorder is well named, well-treated  or well understood.  It should be called by a name more closely aligned to the reality of what it is which is ‘medical injury.’  For this is one of those diseases which arrived and flourished with the advent of infant inoculations. By and large, mid 20th century this was almost unheard of.  As dosage and usage grew, so did numerous, strange new ‘diseases’.  

My son sprang forth from a fortuitous gene-pool;  demonstrated good strength,  coordination;  did almost everything ‘early’ or well and on time; obviously, perceptive, dextrous, open and curious.   Loved school and sports.  By the 3rd or 4th grade, he began having difficulty absorbing as he should and he found school not as rewarding as it had been.  I didn’t have a clue that anything could be wrong — why would I? He was well liked, had friends, his teachers liked him.   Everyone is different.  People don’t have to be academics to be happy, right?   I didn’t ‘get’ that his creative, easy grasp of ideas could have been impacted by something from his doctor’s office.  Nor would such an idea cross my mind til he was in his 30’s and he told me that he believes he has ADHD and probably always has.  He has found his coping mechanisms and made stuff work in his life, because that’s who he is – highly independent and hugely forceful willpower.  But he probably has had to work harder to achieve his goals than he otherwise should have. 

My son’s youth was in the ’60’s and ’70’s and vaccinations were scant then compared to what they are now. Well I’ve written on all this so often, I won’t belabor it now — again.  This remains however, one of my greatest passions though it is coupled with serious angst.  And I feel we ALL must remain vigilant not just for our own kids, but all children.  They  and everyone deserves to have a decent, healthy life without being cut down and deprived of  a fully functioning body where all the organs within it are working in harmony and doing what they should.   

Our babies should not be given these toxic inoculations while they are still so tiny and vulnerable.  Providing they are given a good start by their nursing mommies, our babies need to build up their own immunity and it can’t happen with aluminum and mercury as components of what’s being shot into their tiny little organisms.  Can’t handle it!  Those poisons impact all their systems, but especially the central nervous system which is controlled by the brain.  So we read all those hideous stories . . . how 1 kid in 10 gets this and 1 in 4 gets Autism or ADHD and so on.  This isn’t normal or right and no one has the right to expect people who are capable of thinking and loving their children to accept this.  It is criminal.

What these children need is not prescription medications  but sound nutrition with plenty of TLC in the form of organic food and juices and lots of enzymes.  I spend much time online because I love it and the world is available to us online. . . we can find anything.   There are many, many practitioners out there now offering help, I’ve read some of the stories.  Because I’m familiar with what Donna Gates does over at Body Ecology, that would be one of my first recommendations to anyone who has a child so impacted.  She has had XLNT successes.  But check it out, due your own due diligence.  Yes, Hippocrates — it’s the food.  Jan)

2 Comments »

  1. I think it’s hard to really figure out whether the incidence of ADD/ADHD is going up or not. Teachers have been complaining about kids not sitting still or listening for, well, probably for as long as there has been civilization. Some kids have had trouble with school and dropped out for as long as there’s been school. There’s no doubt that more kids are being diagnosed, but there are also more kids being evaluated.

    I was diagnosed with ADD at about age 20. All throughout my school career, teachers would complain that I wasn’t meeting my potential, that I needed to apply myself more. At the end of first grade, my desk was stuffed full of half-finished class assignments. I was not going to graduate from college without something changing. A friend suggested that I might have ADD, and encouraged me to talk to a psychiatrist. I did, and they said that I met the diagnostic criteria. I started on methylphenidate/Ritalin. It has helped me immensely.

    I still do the same kind of work that I studied in college. I enjoy it – I always have. I recently spent some time with people who I knew before I was on methylphenidate. They both said that I seemed like the same person as I was in high school. One of them did specifically say that I no longer had the annoying tendency to get distracted in the middle of stuff. She didn’t need to pester me and remind me to do stuff the way that she’d needed to before.

    I grew up on home-cooked vegetarian food. Never had carbonated beverages at home – fruit juice was the only sweet drink. Pure fruit juice, not this silly “a few drops of juice and a pound of sugar” stuff. Lots of lentils and other beans. Never ate fast food. Rarely had candy bars around. Very little pre-prepared meals.

    I remember, a couple weeks before I went to see the psychiatrist, sitting in my bedroom reading a textbook. No music, no other distractions. Nobody else at home. I’m reading, and by the second or third page it just doesn’t work. My brain will not let me read. I can’t do it. My eyes focus but the reading just isn’t happening. I’ve been taking methylphenidate (currently, Concerta 36) for 15 years now, and the impact on me has been positive. Incredibly positive.

    Comment by gopiballava — November 14, 2013 @ 4:16 am | Reply

    • Gopi, so good to hear from you. You make many fine points, and your life speaks directly to the seriousness of this disease and the burden it is on any who have been so afflicted. I have spoken to others as well as what my son has told me. One goes through the motions, but nothing was connecting – happening. The learning process is not just a difficult thing, but often – totally out of reach.

      That you received benefit from the medication and counseling, well, one would certainly hope so. But you are dependent on keeping on with your meds to have the life you desire. It’s kinda after the fact, isn’t it? Why did it happen in the first place? ADD and ADHD didn’t fall out of the sky, nor did our genes suddenly forget what they were about or how to do what they were designed to do. The organism has been impacted by the introduction of toxic chemicals as already referred to in the comment on the article. Perfect, beautiful children are being injured and maimed.

      Gopi, it is not true that it is hard to discern whether this disease has grown by leaps and bounds. Looking at historical facts and recorded history which anyone may access in a thousand ways; all over this blog, N.V.I.C. run by Barbara Lowe Fisher, Jeffrey Smith . . . .what is necessary is an open mind and an interest in finding cause, not treatment of symptoms.

      It is clear that your home life and care from your parental nest was good or even excellent. But it is more than the good that is received, it is also the harm which is done in the form of what you and I have no control over, the toxic, poisonous chemicals which are afflicting all alike.

      In the article, I didn’t appreciate that this problem is costing far too much on the medical system when there are more serious afflictions out there which need our attention. My Gawd! Hard to believe such a cavalier attitude even exists.

      Dear Lady, thank you for your contribution here, it is valuable and much appreciated. Jan

      Comment by Jan Turner — November 14, 2013 @ 2:02 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

