SMOKINCHOICES (and other musings)

September 1, 2013

Thrift Books, a “resource”

 A BUCK SAVED IS A GOOD THING

Just wanted to mention to all my blog visitor friends that I have recently learned of Thrift Books from another friend of mine, who mentioned that she primarily uses this firm now for books because mostly, they are around $3.00 and the shipping is free.   I thought, yeah, sure — how good could they be?  I just placed this order tonight and it is my 4th one in about a month. 

On my first order, I bought I think 4 books.   They came rather swiftly and they were in fine shape.  I was simply stunned.   Soon after, needed text books for our new college girl just entering  an out of state school.  When I leaned of this, speaking with my son, I volunteered to search for them used as they were dreadfully expensive.  They protested, but I wanted to make a contribution to this marvelous adventure as I adore my granddaughter.  I found five of the seven needed texts from both Thrift Books and Amazon.com  .  .  .  saving a huge bundle.  One of the texts cost a couple hundred dollars and I found it for about $8.

I know that many of my readers are employed and probably most of you do not have the budgetary problems we geriatric, S.S. recipients have —  —  so this may not impress you.  But for those of us with certain $ issues of one kind or another, this is a huge benefit.  Like a great many Virgo people, I have a passion for books, almost to the point of sickness I think.  My husband was like this too.  And sadly, I think my son is following in our footsteps. 

I have the definitive book on Magnesium (Dr Seelig’s book — the Magnesium Factor), but I learned of Dr. Carolyn Dean’s book, the Magnesium Miracle and wanted that too.  It sounded just great.  So I went to Thrift books.   They had recently sent me a Happy Birthday greeting and offered me a 15% discount on any purchase I made as a gift.  So nice.  So thoughtful.  So off I went with my discount in mind. (and bought 7 books  — but look at those prices, which are reflecting the discount).  This is not a full invoice, only a confirmation of the purchase, so authors aren’t showing;  but one of them is Dr Wright’s – book I wanted;   one is  Dr Mark Hyman and another one is a doctor-nutritionist  Brenda Watson I think which I really wanted plus several other doctors.  I wasn’t keeping notes as I went – – just trying to go as fast as I could for stuff I wanted. 

There was a drop down menu of classifications of books and I was in Alternative Healing and there were 28X pages of 20 or so listings on each page.  I got up to page 24 and somehow got dumped off and couldn’t get back on without starting over, so I settled for 7 books.  My computer needs to be seen by a computer doc, I’ve screwed it up somehow, so its working very slowly.  Oh well.  .   .   just wanted to share all this.   Jan

Thriftbooks!
Bargain Basement Best Sellers Textbooks Deals
Hello Jan,Thank you for your order on Thriftbooks.com. We have processed your order and will ship it to you shortly. You will receive another email from us when your books are shipped.We work very hard to provide exceptional customer service. Please let us know if we can improve your online experience. We would not, under any circumstance, get upset if you refer us to everyone you know.

Please visit us again and often.

Your friend,

Thriftbooks.com

ORDER DETAILS
ORDER# 38729841
Shipping Address:
Jan Turner

Shipping Method:
Standard
4-14 business days

Shipping Soon from Portland
TBID: 508708143 Price: Shipping: SalesTax: Total:
ISBN: 0743448839 $2.97 $0.00 $0.00 $2.97
Title: Ultraprevention
Quality: Used – Good
TBID: 508796543 Price: Shipping: SalesTax: Total:
ISBN: 0452282772 $6.68 $0.00 $0.00 $6.68
Title: 7 Steps to a Pain-Free Life: How to Rapidly Relieve Back and Neck Pain
Quality: Used – Acceptable
Shipping Soon from Hartford
TBID: 907197356 Price: Shipping: SalesTax: Total:
ISBN: 0553267701 $2.95 $0.00 $0.00 $2.95
Title: The Herb Book
Quality: Used – Acceptable
TBID: 907854792 Price: Shipping: SalesTax: Total:
ISBN: 1416572538 $3.03 $0.00 $0.00 $3.03
Title: The Detox Strategy: Vibrant Health in 5 Easy Steps
Quality: Used – Very Good
TBID: 908981469 Price: Shipping: SalesTax: Total:
ISBN: 0446392308 $2.97 $0.00 $0.00 $2.97
Title: Healing Back Pain: The Mind-Body Connection
Quality: Used – Good
TBID: 909004605 Price: Shipping: SalesTax: Total:
ISBN: 034549458X $11.27 $0.00 $0.00 $11.27
Title: The Magnesium Miracle
Quality: Used – Very Good
TBID: 909031494 Price: Shipping: SalesTax: Total:
ISBN: 0895298694 $3.26 $0.00 $0.00 $3.26
Title: Prescription for Herbal Healing: An Easy-to-Use A-Z Reference to Hundreds of Common Disorders and Their Herbal Remedies
Quality: Used – Good
Total: $33.13
About Us   |    Tell-A-Friend   |    FAQs    |    Free Shipping   |    Become a FaceBook Fan!  Become a FB Fan
Gift Cards at Thriftbooks Gift Cards at Thriftbooks
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

