SMOKINCHOICES (and other musings)

March 9, 2013

Many Q’s re Butter

Jan’s Butter

Most everybody will probably raise eyebrows over the idea that I enjoy  butter.   But I do and will continue to do so.   For about half century, I have been somewhat enhancing Nature’s product to suit my indulgent taste buds.   Ever since I first discovered “whipped butter” was even more delightful – – lighter, spreadable, yet retaining all of what one loves about butter.

When one of my friends “Mother-in-Law” explained to me about the health benefits of using butter the way she made it, I was hooked.  Her method involved using a blender or food processor and equal parts of pure water and Safflower Oil.  So essentially, it was a pound of butter,  1/2 Cup of water and 1/2 Cup of Safflower oil.  Leave butter out at room temp all morning or overnight to soften.    This of course cut the calories, increased the benefits because of the  Safflower oil which she said were wonderful.   This lady was a stunning, impressive, fourth wife of a very well-to-do Father-in-Law of my friend.   She was a known “health-nut” whom I was told, was very up on such things. So that’s how I made butter for years, starting with “salt-free.  And it led to a lot of “butter making” when all friends tasted it in my home and wanted some.

Stuff changes.  Safflower Oil is no longer held in such high  favor – – nor are most oils for that matter.    So to improve the health benefits, began using sesame and nut oils with the water.

When I learned of Coconut oil because of Dr Mary Newhart and the Alzheimer’s thing, this was the perfect answer.  And I have been doing this for a couple of years.    But this last year I started doing the butter with 1/3 Cup Coconut oil plus another 1/3 cup  of equal parts avocado oil and sesame oil.   Frankly delicious!

Hope you enjoy,  Jan

2 Comments »

  1. Keep all the articles coming. I love reading your posts.
    Thank you.

    Comment by mole removal home — April 25, 2013 @ 10:02 am | Reply

    • Lucille, thank you. Have you tried the butter in some fashion kinda like I do? At the end of this post I am attempting to explain that I am now using coconut oil (because I take every opportunity I can to include coconut oil in my daily regime.) But I don’t think I made it clear that I also still use water in the mix in order to thin it down and keep it spreadable.

      Enjoy, Jan

      Comment by Jan Turner — April 25, 2013 @ 11:18 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

