SMOKINCHOICES (and other musings)

September 2, 2012

Tooth “Ode,” You’ll miss me when I’m gone

Things I wish I’d known long ago

It is true that I have written about tooth care a number of times..  Sometimes what is said has found domicile tucked away in a post which is titled in such a way that no one would have a clue it is there.    Another one was strangely titled “Taking Care of my Gums.”  I know, sounds  disgusting to me too.    What can I say?   Maybe its just my ‘stream-of-consciousness style of writing.    Anyway, it has occurred to me that it wouldn’t hurt to try to deliberately put in one piece those things I have learned this last few years which I have found so helpful, logical and easy to incorporate in my life and wish I’d known this last 20 or 30 years before I lost so many teeth (including, since going mostly raw).

While there are countless other sources and wonderful little books out there espousing similar ideas, I must confess, I am taken with the persona of Nadine Artemis of Living Libations, an excellent site in which she divulges most everything.  Many videos on YouTube of her.  She has often spoken at David Wolfe’s annual shindigs and her product line is sold at most natural food outlets like Longevity Warehouse and others My habit is to do it myself.  So I pour over ingredient or contents and try to come up with my own versions.    I especially like Nadine for her simple expressions of her scientific background into logistics of the workings of the mouth and teeth, what we can rightfully expect from our mouth and what our mouth would be pleased to have us do so that we can not just survive, but have pleasurable experience as well.

The healthy mouth is protected by saliva which is alkaline in the same manner as is the ocean waters in the seas around the world. It is said, all life stems from the oceans.  It is wise to keep this in mind in caring for our mouth since our teeth are alive in every part of the structure. With improper care or diet, we wind up with acidity in the mouth as well as bacteria left behind from food.  This leads to plaque, tartar buildup and perhaps sensitivity, bleeding and/or inflammation.  We can wind up with infected gums and decaying teeth.   This sounds bad, but it can also lower our immunity and general health.   We need a healthy mouth to chew our food for this is our first line of defense in the digestive process.

Most of us have been taught to do it all wrong.  The advice comes down from dentists.  FALLACY #1   Brush after meals.  Don’t do that!  Twice daily is fine;  once to start the day and again when going to bed.  Instead:  Rinse the mouth with WATER and some SEA SALT and just gently swish it around.  If food seems stuck between teeth – – FLOSS     See, so much of what we eat is acid (fruits, juices, meats,  starches, sugars and so on). . .this weakens the enamel surface, strips it and make it more vulnerable.   Brushing teeth in this weakened state removes the enamel.  So many people loose their enamel and it is so needless.

The lower shelf of my medicine cabinet has all dental stuff.  Lidded jar with Sea salt mixed into water and ready to go.  I use a Water-Pik [for about 40 years] and add about an ounce of the salt water to it.  On that shelf  is my tooth powder

and my scaled down version of Neem Enameler [I’ll share]  If budget is no problem, by all means go to Living Libations and get the Yogi Tooth Serum and Neem Mineralizer.  David Wolfe uses this stuff and wouldn’t be without it.  Those on a shoestring budget – see my efforts to follow.

Please try to protect your family from fluoride, dentists like to paint in on the kids teeth.  But this stuff gets into the whole system and it is not worth it.  This stuff is toxic.  If children are taught to use healthful tooth cleanser and rinse with sea salt, they shouldn’t get carries. Just read the labels on all those gels and pastes.

Nadine gave a clever trick recently which is worth mentioning here.  Have a small jar of baking soda in bathroom and a small jar of vinegar {I only have Apple Cider Vinegar in the house].    If notice a little plaque or just want a thorough cleansing – –  brush with baking soda, then take about a spoon of vinegar into mouth and close lips while it sizzles away.  Then spit out. Easy, tingly and refreshing.

In various other posts, I have written about the  efficacious  usefulness of the product Diatomaceous Earth made by Perma Guard.  It is food grade;  works on fleas, ants and BED BUGS  [their site is a blast , can learn a lot there especially on how to’s. ]  I had learned about its use for killing tooth pain.  Not harmful to us or pets body [food-grade remember].  When can’t afford to go to dentist and having pain in tooth or gum, dab some of this on with a Q-Tip and result is almost instantaneous.  It’ll tide you over, but remember, pain often means an infection and a competent dentist should see it.   It is called Fossil Shell Flour.  (I’m not an advocate of pain)

(I got this recipe from John Gallagher of Learning Herbs – Mountain Rose Herbs is where I buy all as  is organic)

My Tooth Powder

1/4 Cup Kaolin Clay  – [cosmetic, prevents plaque build-up]
1/4 Cup  Baking Soda
1/4 Cup Sea Salt. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [grind down with mortar and pestle]
1 Tablespoon Dried Sage  [helps to whiten teeth] . . . . . . . . .        ”                  ”                                                                                                                                           30 drops of Peppermint Essential Oil

Mix all together to assimilate oil into the mixture, then put in small jars with lid and   label

Neem Oil Enamelizer    (kind of)

(Don’t need a lot of this.  Make only about 1 – 2 oz bottleful and drop a dab on a Q-Tip to go over gums where meets tooth.  Can also use a drop on Floss as well.)

Combine Neem, Jojoba oil, coconut oil, aloe vera gel, water, olive oil, and peppermint oil.  I make it mostly neem, only a touch of olive and of course, pure water.  Put in dropper bottle.    Must shake each time use it – it separates.   I like this . It helps to remineralize that enamel

Guess that’ll do it.   Have a happy mouth                Jan

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

