SMOKINCHOICES (and other musings)

May 6, 2013

MRH with a few lessons

How do I love thee?. . . let me count the ways

I can hardly wait to get started.  Have wanted to make Valerian tincture, because I use it as tea at bed time.  You folks are so generous and good to me,  . .just gotta share this.   Thank you.     Jan

Well,   this is a first for me.  WORDPRESS  has hijacked my ability to share this with you after all.  The inference is that by allowing  the videos etc involved in this post,  would break certain rules.      All who come here understand that I have no financial axe to grind one way or another.  When I speak well of a substance or ill of another, I speak from a point of view of my own perception;  there has never been any consideration based on finances for that is not what is done here.  “Smokinchoices” has always been a creative outlet for my strong communication needs,  which has been clear from day one .  I speak from my truth, heart and mind.   If I am unable to do that, then I shall be unable to blog. 

I am frankly, very upset at this.  I am too damned old to start learning how to do the “code thing”.  I went there and poured over the business end of stuff and I don’t know what I am looking at.  Thought maybe I could just disable the video parts.  I can’t even find them, how can I disable them?

Because I seriously admire Mountain Rose Herbs and appreciate what they do, how they operate;  and I so deeply value my readership, I wanted  – needed, to bring the two together with this post.   Being thwarted, I don’t know what else to do beyond trying to give you what I am hoping will be a link to it, and you folks can get there on your own, and hopefully, subscribe to their site.  As it stands, you have no means to access the lessons now.  I sincerely hope you do this for Mountain Rose Herbs is giving some truly valuable lessons away for free which so many of you will enjoy.  So here goes:

                         <erin@mountainroseherbs.com>       and guess we need a subject line:

                           Re: Herb Day ~ Herbal Medicine Making 101

featured banner
Support Organic Agriculture!
Herb Day ~ May 4th, 2013

Free Lessons:

Herbal Extracts

Infusions & Decoctions

Herbal Oils & Salves

DIY Liniments

Medicinal Vinegars

Herbal Honey Video

Making your own herbal infused honey is simple and delicious!

This video will teach you how to make lavender infused honey,

but you can use this method to create any type of herbal infused honey imaginable.

DIY Liniments

Simple to make, herbal liniments are a great preparation for any home medicine cabinet! They offer relief for pain, inflamed muscles, bruises, and sprains.

How to Make medicinal vinegars

Did you know that vinegar can be infused with medicinal herbs to create wonderful alcohol-free extracts?

 

Herbal vinegar extracts make a potent alternative to tinctures and are perfect for children, anyone abstaining from alcohol, or those with alcohol sensitivities.

 

Find us here!

Mountain Rose Herbs

Home Page

 

facebook

Twitter

YouTube

Blog

 

 

Greetings!

Today is the day! In honor of this wonderful celebration of all things herbal, we’ve put together some incredible tools for you. This collection of free herbal medicine making lessons will inspire you to create your own herbal tinctures, teas, infused honey, medicinal vinegar, healing salves, and much, much more.

We hope you enjoy this information. It’s so important for each of us to share what we learn and keep the tradition of herbal healing alive and accessible to all. Plants are powerful!

Wishing you a beautiful Herb Day!

~ Mountain Rose Herbs ~

       

Lesson 1:

Herbal Extracts

  

Did you know that all tinctures are extracts, but not all extracts are tinctures?

This informative “how-to” will guide you through the folk method of tincturing, covering fresh and dried herbs, variations for specific plant parts, alcohol percentage considerations, extraction times, storage, and more!

Lesson 2: 

Infusions & Decoctions


Learn the basic guidelines and methods for making hot and cold infusions, decoctions, and herbal syrups with these easy step-by-step instructions!

Brew hot infusions to draw out vitamins, enzymes, and aromatic volatile oils, cold infusions for herbs with delicate essential oils, decoctions for the extraction of hard roots, dried berries, barks, and seeds, and herbal syrups to soothe and assist sore throats, stomach upset, relaxation, and more.

Lesson 3:

Herb Infused Oils & Salves

 

This step-by-step guide will teach you the basics of making versatile herbal infused oils – with instructions for both solar infusion and the hot method - as well as solid herbal salves.

Learn to make a variety of herbal infused oils and their properties so you can easily craft salves and healing oil blends whenever you need them!

 Join our mailing list! 
email: erin@mountainroseherbs.com     voice: (800) 879-3337
web: http://www.mountainroseherbs.com
Mountain Rose Herbs · PO Box 50220 · Eugene · OR · 97405
This email was sent to virlib@columbus.rr.com by erin@mountainroseherbs.com |
Mountain Rose Herbs | PO Box 50220 | Eugene | OR | 97405

How do I love thee

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

