SMOKINCHOICES (and other musings)

June 11, 2012

Dr Glen Aukerman – Nutrigenomics

Just a brief moment of sharing.  I saw Dr Aukerman less than 2 weeks ago with a simple request; but as life often does with us when we least expect it – my socks were knocked off.  Little did I know this dynamo was such a wonder of a man.  As department head of the center where I go, never imagined I would have a chance of meeting.  Went to Google and found this old article from the paper and also, another showing the book I  bought the same day I saw him.  (online).

It’s a small book of 120 pages, but I just couldn’t wait to learn about his protocol. I’m so impressed.  I’ll keep you posted.  Jan 

Doctor recommends simpler eating

By  Kristy Eckert  The Columbus Dispatch Monday August 11, 2008

                                   

Dr. Glen Aukerman, medical director of the Ohio State University Center for Integrative Medicine, sees patients from throughout the world who are seeking alternative approaches to health care.

“Someday, this probably won’t be called integrative medicine,” said Laura Kunze, program coordinator. “It will just be called medicine — good medicine.”

Twice each month, the center offers free nutrition classes for the public.

Aukerman recently answered some questions about nutrition.

Q: You say that eating the wrong types of fruits and vegetables ranks among the biggest mistakes that people make. What should they eat?

A: You need to have fruits and vegetables that are grown locally and harvested locally.

Q: You say that consuming too much gluten might cause symptoms such as fatigue, dry skin, abdominal pain and difficulties with concentration, among other things.

A: We eat foods with gluten in high levels (which sometimes cause malabsorption and autoimmune diseases).   Our ancestors were not able to eat at that level, and we can’t. Because our ancestors did not eat high levels of gluten, most of us do not have the enzymes to break it down.    We need to be limiting our wheat, barley, rye and spelt.

Q: One of your biggest nutritional concerns involves omega-6 oil. Recent research shows that humans are getting too much of it. In what is it found?

A: The most common example is poultry — because those (animals) are fed corn and they accumulate the corn oil.   (It is) also in granola products, tortillas, hummus, chips, all nuts, peanut butter.

Q: Why are artificial sweeteners bad?

A: We can’t burn them, so they have to be detoxed like a chemical by our liver.

Rat experiments show that, if we put rats on artificial sweeteners, they can gain more weight than if they’re eating real sugar.

Q: What should people start eating that they don’t eat — and why?

A: They should be eating lamb, pork or beef; omega-3 eggs; wild salmon; fruits and vegetables in season, frozen or canned; and rice products.

Limit the corn products because of the corn oil. We advocate a diet that’s fairly simple.

Q: What are some of the most intriguing results that your patients have had?

A: We have had (older) couples go on it (a simpler diet). In six months, they’re not getting up to go to the bathroom.   And in another three months, they claim their sexual appetites are what they were at 17.

Q: Walk me through a typical day of eating for you.

A: Rice (cereal) or a non-instant oatmeal; or a cornflake breakfast with either yogurt or milk on it; or some fruit that’s regional, seasonal, canned or frozen.

My lunch will sometimes be a baked potato with some broccoli and real sour cream, and an apple or a peach or a pear or some canned or frozen fruit.

And then my dinner will usually be similar, whether it’s lamb, beef, pork or beans. I may go rice and beans with some fruits and vegetables.

Q: You noted a study showing that people who eat cornflakes or rice cereals for two meals a day are healthier by about 50 percent.

A: Yes, the Spanish School Nutrition study indicates we eat way too complex.

We think variety is more important than it is for

health.

Q: What Web sites do you recommend checking when creating a personalized nutrition plan?

A: efaeducation.nih.gov, http://www.nutritiondata.com and http://www.mypyramid.gov.

keckert@dispatch.com

Title: BETTER HEALTH IN 120 DAYS
Editor: Dr. Glen Aukerman
Subtitle: Finding Answers with the WEE Protocol for a Genomic-Specific Nutritional Plan
ISBN:
9781590980125
Format: 5.5″ x 8.5″ trade paperback
Pages: 128
Price: $15.95

        

       Who is the WEE Protocol for?
– the terminally ill?
– the chronically ill?
– those in less than perfect health?


The answer is YES! The WEE Protocol is for everyone who wants to experience optimal health.
In this book, you will meet Dr. Glen Aukerman and a few of his patients, learn about the work he is doing, and how you can use his WEE Protocol to find your way back to optimal health.The WEE Protocol is not a diet, although it will change the foods that you eat. It is a whole-body approach to wellness. It is based on research, both traditional science and evidence-based research, and it can save your life.

6 Comments »

  1. Dr Aukerman is (forced?) into retirement and there is no M.D. to carry on the WEE program. The personal health this Doctor has given me is too important to chance. Where might one turn?

    Comment by Christine M. Nuzum — March 18, 2013 @ 5:41 pm | Reply

    • Christine, I am stunned – – I didn’t know that. Tho I was deeply impressed with Dr Aukerman, my usual physician there at the center is Dr Kurpita whom I adore and have been with her a number of years. What do they tell you? Is it a health problem or what.

      This man has a global reputation and is beloved by so many. I am scheduled to see my doc in a week or so, will try to learn what I can. I thought the WEE protocol was being taught by a few at the center. Good luck to you. Jan

      Comment by Jan Turner — March 18, 2013 @ 9:01 pm | Reply

  2. During his last gluten class for patients, he said that “he would stay as long as OSU would have him.” He mentioned some relocation of his office to an ambiguous, Worthington location. He is as strong and able bodied as any 60 year old. I fear it is a political reason. Been going to him for 7 years,I hate to lose this smart experienced, doctor.

    Comment by Christine M. Nuzum — March 19, 2013 @ 11:37 pm | Reply

    • Christine, I feel your pain. I only saw this doctor once, but he was unlike any physician I had ever seen. His knowledge was uncanny and his mind very organized and perceptive. His kind nature was so evident to me – – the lack of sense of ego. Here was this spectacular awareness level, yet, he was a servant to others. That kind of thing speaks very loudly to me. All things considered, of course you miss him.

      I am however nonplussed that someone who has been with him for seven years would be cut off. Surely they (OSU) have other plans or possibilities in line. I’ll contact you if and when I find something to be of help for you. I would like to know what has happened as well. Jan

      Comment by Jan Turner — March 20, 2013 @ 12:19 am | Reply

      • Christine, simply wanted to tell you that I have called Dr Aukerman’s office at the Integrative Medicine Center and spoke with the young lady on staff there. She was most pleasant and helpful. It seems that Dr Aukerman is retiring as of June of this year – – by his choice. There is no coercion involved for this is a revered and most popular individual, one in whom OSU has been marvelously well-served as well as all the people he has helped. Perhaps it is just a matter of time marching on and stuff changes.

        So Dr Aukerman is not accepting new patients; that is quite understandable. You must deal directly with the center as to your future care. Hopefully, something quite agreeable will be forthcoming. As to our one-of-a-kind Dr Aukerman, you must try to see the blessing in what you have already received, for I am sure you have been enriched. I was and I only saw him for maybe half an hour and felt blessed. Hope this helps Christine. I wish you well, keep me posted. Jan

        Comment by Jan Turner — March 20, 2013 @ 1:21 pm

      • Christine, I am attempting to reach out to you over the Dr Aukerman issue. I have received a standard form letter from Dr Aukerman in which he discloses his departure from OSU or as he refers to it, his retirement from the Medical Center.

        Along with you, and I am quite sure, perhaps hundreds or even thousands of others are probably somewhat confused by all this. Each overture I have made to inquire has been met with considerable gentleness and courtesy and I was left to believe that this was of Dr A’s own preference. I accepted that – why wouldn’t I? I don’t doctor a lot, but have been a patient there since 2009.

        Dr A intends to enter private practice with plans still pending and vague. I am frankly, stunned as it would appear that this was a development ‘not’ designed by Dr Aukerman who is still prepared to care for his patients, but cannot until he develops and opens a new practice. Guess I am just wondering if you have anything new on the matter. I would very much like to know his new location and hope he will still be available to those of us who so deeply appreciate him. Thank you. Jan

        Comment by Jan Turner — April 10, 2013 @ 12:10 am


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

